Página Inicial
|  português   |   site map   |   disclaimer   |   

News | Events
Universidade Católica Portuguesa Página Inicial
About UCP Página Inicial Voltar Adicionar aos Favoritos Imprimir

Facts and Figures


The university was created in 1967, when the Faculty of Philosophy (Braga) became the first faculty of UCP. The headquarters opened in Lisbon in 1968.

The university was officially recognised by the state in 1971.

For further information, see History


UCP consists of 17 faculties, schools and institutes, which are the basic education and research units. They are located in 4 main centres: Lisboa (headquarters), Porto, Braga and Viseu.


  • Bachelor, Master`s and Doctor`s degrees
  • Main subject areas:
    - Arts and Humanities
    - Biosciences and Bioengineering
    - Communication Studies
    - Conservation and Heritage Studies
    - Economics
    - Education Sciences
    - Health Sciences
    - Law
    - Management
    - Media Arts & Technology
    - Nursing
    - Philosophy
    - Political Science
    - Psychology
    - Social Sciences
    - Theology and Religious Studies
  • Certificate and diploma courses
  • Executive education
  • e- and b-learning


The university also includes research units (study or research centres, institutes).



Logotipo Acessibilidades
|  Privacy Policy   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Rights of data subjects   |    The Catholic University of Portugal > Oporto > Braga > Lisbon > Viseu